VL Chronicles

VayneLine Chronicles is a collection of eight stories.  Each of the stories are completely separate but together they paint an overarching expansion to the universe.  Chronologically most of them take place near the time line before the start of VayneLine. The two major exceptions to this is AilAid and Rexrin Protocol, AilAid takes place about one generation before, and Rexrin Protocol takes place a couple of generations before.

Each link goes to the story’s page that has a summary of the theme, character list, and a synopsis of what occurred in the story.  The synopsis is marked by spoilers as it at the end to help avoid ruining any surprises.


A collage of the VayneLine Chronicles by a fan

A collage of the VayneLine Chronicles with all eight stories by a fan

Each story introduces and expands VL concepts as well as potentially introducing characters that are seen again later.  The stories are as follows:


Caught as a slave and forced to play a deadly version of Gun-Drift to survive five games.  A star player realizes escape is not as simple as the promised five game mark suggests.  Major concepts: Gun-Drift, Aelisha interference


Project: AKRA

A elite military team is sent in to rescue an unknown item that organizations will kill for.  What seems like a simple extraction turns into a battle of betrayal and interwoven fates.  Major concepts: Classed Soldiers, Emotion Field



A mining colony is slowly killed by aliens who’s targets are ‘marked’ by a change of their hair to white, only three of them are left.  Upper dimensional spirits become involved in what occurs, challenging what we think of for guardian angels.  Major concepts: ‘Marking‘, upper dimensional aspects, Line Springs



Two knights in an ancient kingdom go to the enemies castle seeking revenge; they find out the small world they are part of is a lynch pin in a interstellar battle.  Major concepts:  Line Artifacts, Star Priestess



A elite Hunter is tasked with killing a female rebellion leader who has killed every hunter after her. Finding himself on a world that is sympathetic to androids and a hostile populace he finds out he is the one hunted. Major concepts:  Androids, Hunters, Rank system


Proud Infinity

A unemployed scientist bemoans the new suspicious company in town, when he meets a coy and playful girl who tells him she is here to help him, he realizes the help he needs is trying the end the day that occurs over and over.  Major concepts: Time Fractures, LineGods


Mirrored Sky

An abandoned offshoot of the Solarian race is engaged in a fight with a superior foe, when a leader fighter pilot’s final kill is taking down the enemy squad leader, he finds himself alone of the alien world with the enemy he swore to kill.  Major concepts:  Line Springs, ‘Marking


Rexrin Protocol

A colony is beset by disappearances and creatures that seem like hostile zombies, when an investigation team is sent in, the problem is revealed to be something inside every person.  Slowly everyone on the planet is killed, including members of the investigation team.  Major concepts: Nanities, androids



Inadvertently there is a pattern to the stories, especially as viewed with the cover art.  The books on the left, which is the 1st,4th and 7th (Slipdrift, Eu-Knight, Mirrored Sky) deal far more with environmental survival and are mostly about the characters enduring the desolation they find themselves in.  The middle row, 2,5,8 (Project: AKRA, FrayLash, and RexRin Protocol) are more ‘action’ stories of characters battling characters and have much more fast paced combat scenes that occur more often.  The last ones 3,6 and if there was a 9th (AilAid and Proud Infinity) focus much more on conceptual ideas, and the characters battling against esoteric conceptions.